How Reconnect Works with Your Smartphone
Learn what the app does and does not do with your information.
Reconnect does not invade your privacy. The Reconnect Community app uses permissions that you set to allow it to do certain things.
What permissions are you asked to allow? What do they mean and why does Reconnect need them?
- Reconnect Community will send you push notifications for check-ins, reminders, and communication from your case manager. This permission is required for those to be delivered.
Allow Critical Alerts
- Reconnect Community will send you an alert if you are about to miss a check-in. This is especially important if your program is using Reconnect for curfews or other random check-ins.
- Reconnect Community logs your location when you check in and when you send a message. This information is shared with your program. Reconnect Community cannot see your location at any other time unless that service is used by your program.
Share Background Location
- This allows Reconnect to gather your location while you do not have the app open. This information is available to your program. Not all programs utilize this service. If you have questions about what location data your program has opted to gather, please reach out to your case manager.
Allow Access to Motion or Physical Activity
- This permission allows Reconnect to determine whether you and your phone are moving. To keep your background location accurate as you move quickly, the phone changes the way that it gathers location data. This information is only used if your program is using Reconnect for continuous location monitoring.
Allow Access to Camera
- This allows the Reconnect Community app to use your phone’s camera when you take a selfie to check in. Reconnect cannot access your camera unless you are using it during a check-in or to send a photo via Reconnect’s messaging functionality. The application cannot use your camera outside of these situations.
Allow Access to Photos
- If you use Reconnect Community to message your case manager, this permission enables you to send a photo attachment. It does not give Reconnect or your program access to your photo library. Reconnect can only see photos that you choose to upload to the app.
Allow Access to Audio Recording
- If you use Reconnect Community to have video calls with your case manager, this permission enables the recording of that audio. It does not allow Reconnect to listen to or record calls made outside of the Reconnect Community app.
Allow Access to Phone
- Access to your phone’s calling service is necessary to allow video calls from your case manager to ring like a normal phone call. This does not give Reconnect access to your phone calls outside of the app, call history, or contacts.
What data does Reconnect collect?
Reconnect Community collects the following information:
- The type of phone you are using and what operating system is on that phone for support purposes.
- Whether you are logged in to the Reconnect Community app.
- Any messages you send your case manager or PO within the Reconnect Community app. Reconnect does not look at or track messages sent outside of our app.
- Any video calls you have with your case manager or PO through the Reconnect Community app. Reconnect does not track or access calls made outside of our app.
- Your location any time you send a message or check in through the app. If it’s part of your program, Reconnect Community will collect your phone’s location throughout the day, though this occurs only if your program chooses to turn on that service.
The information Reconnect does obtain from the app is available to the program you are participating in, but this information is never sold to third parties. Reconnect is HIPAA compliant, and we work hard to ensure your information is secure and protected.
What does Reconnect not do?
Reconnect Community does not:
- Monitor anything done on your phone outside of our app.
- Have access to your photo library. Reconnect can only see a photo if it is sent through our app.
- Listen to, record, or document your phone calls outside of our app.
- Read texts or other messages sent outside of our app.
- Give your program access to your phone.
- Share or sell any of your information.